Overdrive problems

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Hi There,

I have some odd overdrive (j type) problems with my 2500 S. It works fine in 3rd, but was becoming slow to disengage in 4th. Now 4th has stopped working all together. I tested the electrical circut with a 12 volt test light. The solenoid receives power in third (ie the tester light illuminates) but not in 4th? The fact that it works in 3rd dismissed any problems with the inhibitor swich and solenoid, so does that mean the problem is a mechanical one in the gear box? If so….that sounds like a bit of a pain to fix! Ive checked the oil level too….Id be glad to hear from any one with some expertise on the matter….

The good news is, its been stinking hot, and the recently installed air con (at great expense to the management) is working well!

Cheerio,

Matt

straylight
    Participant

I’m no expert on the J type overdrive matt, but the triumph dolomite guys pointed everyone to a technical site in the USA which has some excellent information and diagnostics for it.

http://www.buckeyetriumphs.org/technical/technical.htm

follow the links to the J type. It discusses everything from routine maintenance, overhaul, fault finding and is written in a clear way with lots of pics and diagrams. The guy who wrote the guide is a dead set legend.

The site has a wealth of other triumph info as well.

But, I’m thinking the inhibitor switch is releasing in third but not in 4th. Idle guess though.

good luck

stu

britishcarfreak
    Keymaster

Has to be the inhibitor switch on 4th gear. Wire could have fallen off the switch or broken.

Given that engine RPM contributes to the effective engage/disengage speed a slower revving car i.e. in 4th gear vs 3rd gear would appear to be a bit slower. Getting worse over time is odd though. The inhibitor switch wiring could have been very much worn through and carrying a very weak signal – and perhaps now is broken completely.